A love's dream
Elite Special and Europhon, 1985

This LP is the result of coming together of two outstanding musicians: Eugen Cicero and the conductor / arranger Cedric Dumont.

Eugen Cicero, born in Transylvania, brought up there in the Liszt pianistical tradition and an early musical prodigy, after his emigration to the West 1976 “Artist of the Year” of the German Phono Academy, today is ranked in all the world as one of the leading pianists of his kind who knows to combine artistic conscientiousness and imeccable technique with electrifying swing.

Cedric Dumont, whom the Americans call “Mr. Music Man of Switzerland”, for years in resonsible posts of the Swiss Broadcasting System, at present internationally sought after again as a conductor, composer and, last but not least, music author, is one of the few artists who are at home in the concert-hall as in a recording studio as a knowledgeable, masterful interpreter of both serious and light music.

Only two masters of such a calibre could venture to put melody gems of our classics into a modern mounting without touching their substance. On the contrary: As jewels do not lose any of their splendour in a new setting, these immortal evergreens glow up like anew under the inspiring hands of Eugen Cicero and Cedric Dumont.

At this, they are supported by the renowned Munich Philharmonic Orchestra and an All-StarRhythm Section wich acquilt themselves of this unusual, but rewarding task with bravura.
EDITION CODA AG
back to the summary

A love's dream
Elite Special und Europhon, 1985

Diese LP ist das Resultat des Zusammenkommens zweier aussergewöhnlicher Musiker: des Pianisten Eugen Cicero mit dem Dirigenten und Arrangeur Cedric Dumont.

Eugen Cicero, in Siebenbürgen geboren, dort früh schon ein musilalisches Wunderkind und in der Lisztschen Pianistentradition grossgeworden, nach seiner Übersiedlung in den Westen 1976 “Künstler des Jahres” der Deutschen Phono-Akademie, gilt heute in aller Welt als einer der führenden Pianisten seiner Art, der künstlerischen Ernst und makellose Technik mit hinreissendem Swing zu verbinden weiss.

Cedric Dumont, den die Amerikaner “Mr.Music Man of Switzerland” nennen, jahrelang an verantwortlichen Stellen im Schweizer Rundfujnk, heute wieder als Dirigent, Komponist und, nicht zuletzt, Musikschriftsteller international gefragt, ist einer der wenigen Künstler, die im Konzertsaal wie im Aufnahmestudio zu Hause sind als kennerisch-könnerischer Interpret der ernsten wie der leichten Musik.

Nur zwei Meister solchen Formats konnten es sich erlauben, Melodieperlen unserer Klassiker modern einzurichten, ohne ihre Substanz anzutasten. Im Gegenteil: Wie Juwelen auch in einer neuen Fassung nichts von ihrem Glanz verlieren, glühen diese unsterblichen Evergreens wie neu auf unter den inspirierenden Händen von Eugen Cicero und Cedric Dumont.

Unterstützt werden sie dabei von den renommierten Münchner Philharmonikern und einer All-Star-Rhythmusgruppe, die sich der ungewohnten, aber dankbaren Aufgabe mit Bravour entledigen.

EDITION CODA AG
zurück zur Übersicht